2023 Awards

14th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st – Amaya Hrbinic (9 treys)
2nd – Louise Dykstra (8 treys)
3rd – Maecon Glifonea (7 treys)

Junior Girls Final Standings

1. Britannia Bruins
2. Churchill Bulldogs
3. York House Tigers
4. John Oliver Jokers

Most Valuable Player
#2 Bianca Padolina (Britannia)

All-Tournament Team
#8 Joslyn Ly (Churchill)
#9 Taegan Lee (Britannia)
#11 Anika Ferrales-Parlan (Churchill)
#15 Alexa Ferguson (York House)
#19 Janene Acena (John Oliver)

Senior Girls Final Standings

1. Churchill Bulldogs
2. John Oliver Jokers
3. Britannia Bruins
4. York House Tigers
5. Notre Dame Jugglers
6. St. Patrick’s Celtics
7. Crofton House Falcons
8. Kitsilano Blue Demons

Most Valuable Player
#12 Emily Zhang (Churchill)

Best Defensive Player
#10 Louise Dykstra (Churchill)

All-Tournament Team
#1 Queenie Salazar (John Oliver)
#3 Anita Luong (Britannia)
#5 Maecon Gilfonea (Notre Dame)
#6 Advienne Luong (Britannia)
#8 Ira Santos (St. Patrick’s)
#8 Rachel Forrester (John Oliver)
#10 Donna Pimentel (John Oliver)
#11 Jordyn Wyder (York House)
#15 Stefanie Hart (Churchill)
#31 Gigi Roderick (Crofton House)

Scholarship Winners

To date, 172 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge, totally over $104,000.

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the Vancouver Girls Basketball Association has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the VGBA Langara Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from private donations to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

We are excited to partner with the Vancouver Police Department and the Vancouver Police Foundation this year to provide even more opportunities for our Vancouver student athletes.  VGBA Langara scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara.

Here are the scholarship winners this year:

Vancouver Police Department Major Scholarships
Anita Luong
Advienne Luong
Queenie Salazar
Titiana Boima

VGBA Langara Challenge Scholarships 
Simran Dhaliwal
Diana Nguyen
Gwen Orchard
Donna Pimentel
Tran Pham

Langara College Scholarship
Anita Luong

VGBA Falcon Basketball Scholarship
Queenie Salazar