2018 Awards

11th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st – Janel Tantengco (Killarney) – tied 10 (OT 6 treys)
2nd – Janna Jamorabon (John Oliver)
3rd – Julia Jamorabon (John Oliver)

Junior Girls Final Standings

1.  Point Grey Greyhounds
2.  Britannia Bruins
3.  Eric Hamber Griffins
4.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
5.  Churchill Bulldogs
6.  John Oliver Jokers
7.  York House Tigers
8.  King George Dragons

Most Valuable Player
Sophie Johnson (Point Grey)

All-Tournament Team
Chloe Cady  (Churchill)
Zara Hrbinic  (Eric Hamber)
Jewel Leeson
Julienne Locsin  (St. Patrick’s)
Emma Smith
  (Point Grey)

Senior Girls Final Standings

1.  Britannia Bruins
2.  Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
3.  York House Tigers
4.  Killarney Cougars
5.  Notre Dame Jugglers
6.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
7.  John Oliver Jokers
8.  Churchill Bulldogs

Most Valuable Player
Lucy Guan  (Britannia)

Best Defensive Player
Surprise Munie  (Britannia)

All-Tournament Team
Shemaiah Abatayo  (Britannia)
Yvona Acimovic  (Lord Byng)
Cassie Brinn  (St. Patrick’s)
Maggie Ching  (York House)
Jana Jamoraban  (John Oliver)
Skylar MacDonald  (Lord Byng)
Kristen McFarlane  (York House)
Malena Mokhovikova  (Britannia)

Rose Orenzo  (Notre Dame)
Tantengco  (Killarney)

Scholarship Winners

To date, 112 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge.

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the Vancouver Girls Basketball Association has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the VGBA Langara Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from private donations to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

We are excited to partner with the Vancouver Police Department and the Vancouver Police Foundation this year to provide even more opportunities for our Vancouver student athletes.  VGBA Langara scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara.

Here are the scholarship winners this year:

VGBA Langara Challenge Scholarships  
Olivia Austin 
Christie Bernados
Rica Macugay 
Luk Pham 

Vancouver Police Department Scholarships
Ashley Chow  
Devon Herrin
Julia Jamorabon
Alice Pham 

Vancouver Police Department Major Scholarships
Lucy Guan  
Malena Mokhovikova

Langara College Scholarship
Ashley Chow

VGBA Falcon Basketball Scholarship
Laurenn Canofari