2019 Awards

12th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st – Janel Tantengco (13 treys – tiebreaker 7 treys)
2nd – Kaila Fong (13 treys – tiebreaker 7 treys)
3rd – Nadine Wu (12 treys)

Junior Girls Final Standings

1. York House Tigers
2. St. Patrick’s Celtics
3.  Magee Lions
4. Eric Hamber Griffins
5. Point Grey Greyhounds
6. John Oliver Jokers
7. Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
8. Van Tech Talismen

Most Valuable Player
#9 Nadine Wu (York House)

All-Tournament Team
#3 Rochelle Canlas (St. Patrick’s)
#4 Mila Urban (York House)
#5 Alicia Zhang (Eric Hamber)
#7 Finley Butler (York House)
#23 Ali Chong (Magee)

Senior Girls Final Standings

1. Britannia Bruins
2. Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
3. John Oliver Jokers
4. Notre Dame Jugglers
5. Killarney Cougars
6. St. Patrick’s Celtics
7. Churchill Bulldogs
8. York House Tigers

Most Valuable Player
#7 Surprise Munie (Britannia)

Best Defensive Player
#5 Shemaiah Abatayo (Britannia)

All-Tournament Team
#12 Yvonna Acimovic (Lord Byng)
#9 Jasleen Bahia (Britannia)
#5 Janna Jamorabon (John Oliver)
#4 Maggie Mackay (Lord Byng)
#2 Engy Meseha (Lord Byng)
#11 Rosemary Orenzo (Notre Dame)
#19 Jamina Sawal (John Oliver)
#10 Iftu Taju (Britannia)
#5 Janel Tantengco (Killarney)
#2 Kaela Valencia (Notre Dame)


Scholarship Winners

To date, 124 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge.

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the Vancouver Girls Basketball Association has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the VGBA Langara Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from private donations to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

We are excited to partner with the Vancouver Police Department and the Vancouver Police Foundation this year to provide even more opportunities for our Vancouver student athletes.  VGBA Langara scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara.

Here are the scholarship winners this year:

VGBA Langara Challenge Scholarships  
Sabrina Cao
Tia Jang
Olivia Penhall
Janel Tantengco

Vancouver Police Department Scholarships
Katelyn Lafleur
Mairi MacAulay
Janice Tan
Stephanie Yang

Vancouver Police Department Major Scholarships
Jasleen Bahia
Janna Jamorabon

Langara College Scholarship
Tia Jang

VGBA Falcon Basketball Scholarship
Janna Jamorabon