2016 Awards

9th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st – Michelle Ching (York House) – 12 treys
2nd – Trisha Pajayon (Churchill) – 11 treys
3rd – Cecilia Bao (Churchill) – 10 treys


Junior Girls Final Standings

1. Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
2. Killarney Cougars
3.  Notre Dame Jugglers
4.  Charles Tupper Tigers
5.  York House Tigers
6.  Sir Winston Churchill Bulldogs
7.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
8.  Crofton House Falcons

All-Tournament Team
Lauren Canofari (Notre Dame)
Ashley Chow (Charles Tupper)
Janel Tantengco (Killarney)
Yvona Acimovic (Lord Byng)
Skyler MacDonald (Lord Byng)


Senior Girls Final Standings

1.  Sir Winston Churchill Bulldogs
2.  Britannia Bruins
3.  Kitsilano Blue Demons
4.  York House Tigers
5.  Notre Dame Jugglers
6.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
7.  Crofton House Falcons
8.  John Oliver Jokers

Most Valuable Player
Tova Rae (Churchill)

Best Defensive Player
Tova Rae (Churchill)

All-Tournament Team
Rhiannon Moody (St Patrick’s)
Trisha Francia (Notre Dame)
Yasmin Marra (York House)
Maya Soper (Kitsilano)
Alexa Leynes (Churchill)
Cecilia Bao (Churchill)
Julian Duong (Britannia)
Lauren Powell (Britannia)
Katrina Kwong (Churchill)
Jeanne d’Arc Le (Britannia)


Scholarship Winners

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the Vancouver Girls Basketball Association has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the VGBBA Langara Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from private donations to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

VGBA Langara scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara. Here are the scholarship winners this year:

VGBA Langara Challenge Scholarships
Ritika Bhinder
Julian Duong
Christina Hoang
Reylyn Labrador
Jeanne d’Arc Le
Angela Ngo
Marian Nguyen
Jereena Oracion
Lauren Powell
Tova Rae
Madeline Smith
Hauna Wong

Langara College Scholarship
Hauna Wong

VGBA Falcon Basketball Scholarship
Trisha Francia


To date, 85 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge.