2015 Awards

8th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st – Cecilia Bao (Churchill) – 13 treys
2nd – Dina Strujic (Kitsilano) & Lilin Zhang (Britannia) – 9 treys


Junior Girls Final Standings

1.  Kitsilano Blue Demons
2.  York House Tigers
3.  Britannia Bruins
4. Crofton House Falcons

All-Tournament Team

Karalee Antoine (Britannia)
Cassie Brinn (St. Patrick’s)
Arina Lipnitskaya (Kitsilano)
Kristen McFarlane (York House)
Dina Strujic (Kitsilano)

Senior Girls Final Standings

1. Notre Dame Jugglers
2. Britannia Bruins
3.  Killarney Cougars
4.  Churchill Bullsdogs
5.  York House Tigers
6.  Magee Lions
7.  John Oliver Jokers
8.  St. Patrick’s Celtics

Most Valuable Player

Lauren Bondi (Notre Dame)

Best Defensive Player

Eloise Faendrich (Churchill)

All-Tournament Team

Jazzy Aure (Killarney)
Julian Duong (Britannia)
Trisha Francia (Notre Dame)
Amanda Hui (Magee)
Jeanne d’Arc Le (Britannia)
Alexa Leynes (Churchill)
Christine Ling (Notre Dame)
Brianna Tsui (York House)
Rachel Palliser (Killarney)
Joleen Robinson (Notre Dame)


Scholarship Winners

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the Vancouver Girls Basketball Association has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the VGBBA Langara Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from private donations to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

VGBA Langara scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara. Here are the scholarship winners this year:

VGBA Challenge Scholarship Winners

Lauren Bondi
Dana Dayan
Manpreet Deol
Amanda Hui
Natalie Lingren
Amarpreet Randhawa
Joleen Robinson
Lia Slade
Francine Su
Sophie Varabioff
Lilin Zhang

Langara College Scholarship Winner

Amanda Hui (Magee)


To date, 71 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge.