2014 Awards

7th Annual Arc de Triumph 3 Pt Shooting Contest

1st –  Brianna Tsui  (York House) – 10 treys
2nd –  Amanda Sam  (Notre Dame) – 8 treys
3rd –  Nicole Alcibar  (Eric Hamber) – 7 treys


Junior Girls Final Standings

1.  York House Tigers
2.  Churchill Bulldogs
3.  Notre Dame Jugglers
4.  Crofton House Cougars
5.  Britannia Bruins
6.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
7.  Gladstone Gladiators
8.  Eric Hamber Griffins

All-Tournament Team
Ishira Bharadwaj  (York House)
Betty Chang  (Crofton House)
Michelle Ching  (York House)
CJ Leonardo  (Churchill)
Rachel Mackie  (Notre Dame)

Senior Girls Final Standings

1.  York House Tigers
2.  Notre Dame Jugglers
3.  Britannia Bruins
4.  Magee Lions
5.  Kitsilano Blue Demons
6.  Killarney Cougars
7.  St. Patrick’s Celtics
8.  John Oliver Jokers

Most Valuable Player
Maddy Baker  (York House)

Best Defensive Player
Emma Swaffield  (York House)

All-Tournament Team
Lauren Bondi  (Notre Dame)
Chiara Bostock  (Kitsilano)
Trisha Francia  (Notre Dame)
Amanda Hui  (Magee)
Naomi Morcilla  (Britannia)
Julie Panganiban  (Killarney)
Kate Perez  (St. Patrick’s)
Ashna Siddoo  (York House)
Christina Will  (Notre Dame)
Amanda Young  (Britannia)

Most Spirit Award
Magee Secondary


Scholarship Winners

Since the tournament’s inception in 2008, the VGBA has been committed to recognizing individual student athletes playing in the Vancouver Girls’ Basketball Challenge who are true citizens of our community. A number of scholarship are being awarded every year from TELUS to graduating student-athletes who are active leaders in school and community programs, and who have shown proof of academic and athletic accomplishments, and post-secondary aspirations.

TELUS scholarships may be used at any recognized post-secondary institution. And through a collaboration between VGBA and Langara College, there will be additional scholarship opportunities for participants in the tournament who choose to attend Langara. Here are the scholarship winners this year:

VGBA Challenge Scholarship Winners
Alexis Agbonmwandolor
Maddy Baker
Priya Bhatti
Amrita Dhanda
Olivia Feng
Naomi Morcilla
Leena Yamaguchi

Langara College Scholarship Winner
Naomi Morcilla

VGBA Falcon Basketball Scholarship Winner
Leena Yamaguchi


To date, 59 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the VGBA Langara Basketball Challenge.